How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
The state of New Jersey has a two-year statute of limitations on personal
injury cases. This means that you have two years from the date of your
injury to file a claim or you will lose your right to compensation. If
you are filing a claim against a state government worker or agency you
must do so within 90 days of your accident. There are a few exceptions
to these rules depending on your specific situation.
Additionally, New Jersey follows a "modified comparative negligence
rule." This means that even if you are partially at fault for the
accident that led to your injuries you can still pursue compensation,
as long as you are found to be less than fifty-one percent at fault. In
this situation, whatever amount of blame you are determined to have will
be reduced from your total compensation amount. For example, if you were
injured in a car accident and found to be fifteen percent at fault for
the accident, whatever compensation you are rewarded will be reduced by
Should I Hire a Personal Injury Lawyer?
If you were recently injured or had a loved one die in an accident, you
may be entitled to financial compensation to assist with unforeseen damages
related to the accident. In order to determine if you have a personal
injury case, your attorney will first look at who was at fault for the
accident. If another person's negligent behavior, or the careless or unlawful
actions of a manufacturer, company, or other entity was the cause of the
accident, you may have a case. While financial compensation cannot negate
the pain and suffering caused by an unexpected injury or death of a loved
one, it can often help ease the financial burden you are likely facing.
Generally, there are two main types of damages available in a personal
injury case economic and non-economic. Both these types of damages are
categorized as “compensatory damages”. Economic damages, also
called special damages, compensate for quantifiable losses as a result
of an injury such as medical bills or missed days at work. Non-economic
damages, sometimes called general damages, compensate for more abstract
losses such as pain and suffering or loss of companionship.
In some cases, punitive damages can be awarded. Unlike compensatory damages
which seek to compensate the injured for a loss, punitive damages seek
to punish the negligent party. Typically, this type of damage is not usually
awarded and is reserved for cases where a negligent party was aware their
actions would lead to harm and did so intentionally. According to the
New Jersey Revised Statutes section, 2A:15-5.14 punitive damages are limited
or capped, at five times the amount of compensatory damages or $350, 000
whichever is the greater amount.
Common damages associated with accidents and injuries include:
- Hospital and ambulance fees/medical bills
- Costs for ongoing physical and cognitive therapy
- Physical and emotional pain and suffering
- Lost wages due to temporary or permanent disability
- Loss of a loved one/loss of support
- Burial expenses, including funeral/cremation costs
Often, insurance companies deny or devalue just claims. At the Law Offices
of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C., we can help you fight back.
Contact Our Firm Today for the Strong Representation You Deserve
If you or a loved one suffered injuries as a result of someone else's negligence,
you don't have to suffer alone. Our team of dedicated personal injury
attorneys in Teaneck and Union City are prepared to stand up to insurance
companies on your behalf. We work tirelessly in our pursuit of a fair
settlement and will even represent you in the courtroom whenever necessary.
No matter how complex your unique situation may be, we're ready to fight for you.
Find the legal assistance you need—in English or
Spanish— at the Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C.
Call (201) 254-8484 today.