New Jersey Sex Crime Attorneys
Being convicted of a sexual offense can have life-long consequences. If you’ve been charged with a sexual offense, our New Jersey sex crime lawyers in Teaneck and Union City at the Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C. can help you understand and protect your rights.
Sexual offenses in New Jersey include:
- Sexual assault (rape)
- Criminal sexual contact
- Lewdness (indecent exposure)
- Internet sex crimes, including online solicitation of a minor and possession of child pornography
- Statutory rape (sex with a person under the age of consent)
Defending Against Sexual Offense Charges Across New Jersey
In New Jersey, the age of consent is generally 16. New Jersey does allow an exemption for minors close in age engaging in consensual sex. However, when the other party is in a position of power (such as a teacher, step-parent or doctor), the child must be 18 to consent to sexual acts.
Over half of sexual assault convictions result in prison sentences. Aggravated sexual assault is a first-degree crime with a maximum penalty of 10 years in prison. There are different types of aggravated sexual assault crimes, including sexual assault committed during certain criminal activity, with the use of a weapon, or when the victim is physically helpless (including when the victim is asleep). There is no statute of limitations for aggravated sexual assault, and charges may even be brought decades after the claimed act.
Anyone convicted as a sex offender since October 31, 1994, or anyone who was serving a sentence for a sexual offense on that date, must register with their local police department under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. Juvenile sex offenders must register like adults, and sex offenders convicted in other states must register within 10 days of moving to the state, attending school, or working in New Jersey. The names of registered offenders are published on the Internet and can limit employment and housing opportunities.
Sex offenders must continue to register for the rest of their lives unless the court removes them from the Sex Offender Registry. An offender may apply to be removed if he or she committed only one offense, has not committed another offense for 15 years, and can prove that he or she is not likely to threaten the safety of others. Juvenile offenders may apply to be removed from the Registry if they were under the age of 14 at the time of the offense and are now over the age of 18. A failure to comply with the registration requirement is a fourth degree crime.
Contact Experienced New Jersey Sex Crime Lawyers
If you’ve been accused of a sexual offense, contact a sex crime lawyer in Teaneck or Union City at the Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C. to discuss your options and protect your future. Our law offices opened in 1998, and our New Jersey sex crime attorneys have more than 90+ years of combined legal experience serving all of New Jersey.