Teaneck Workers Compensation Attorney
If you have been injured on the job, you may be wondering who to turn to for help. Your employer is required to maintain a safe workplace environment for you and your employees and when they fail, they can be held responsible. At the Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C., we are aware of the consequences a workplace accident can have.
We know just how much of a burden a workplace injury can be on both you and your family. We work quickly to investigate the details of your accident and help you put together a workers’ compensation claim to recover the benefits you are entitled to.
Were you injured at work? Contact our Teaneck workers compensation attorneys at (201) 928-0300 to schedule an appointment.
Understanding Workers’ Compensation Benefits
The exact benefits you are entitled to typically depend on the severity of the injuries you have suffered. In most cases, workers’ compensation benefits are sufficient to cover medical treatment, lost wages, rehabilitation, and related expenses. If you suffered serious injuries resulting in partial or total disability that prevents you from returning to work, you may be entitled to further compensation.
Workplace injury claims typically fall into these disability categories:
- Permanent Total Disability (PTD)
- Permanent Partial Disability (PPD)
- Temporary Partial Disability (TPD)
- Temporary Total Disability (TTD)
How Much Is My Workers’ Compensation Case Worth in New Jersey?
The value of your workers’ compensation case in New Jersey will depend on the specific facts, such as the severity of your injuries, the value of your medical care, your ability to return to work, how much you earned prior to your accident compared to how much you can earn now, and the strength of your evidence. You may be entitled to financial compensation for the following categories:
- Medical expenses – The full amount of your necessary and reasonable medical expenses, including hospitalizations, doctor’s appointments and prescriptions.
- Disability – Reimbursement for lost wages due to a disability, generally up to 70 percent of the worker’s average weekly wage, up to a statutory maximum.
- Death benefits – Financial compensation given to the dependents of a worker who dies on the job, with a maximum of $3,500 for funeral expenses and up to 70 percent of lost wages.
New Jersey has a cap on workers’ compensation benefits, or a maximum amount that is available to an injured worker. These caps change each year and are decided by the New Jersey Commissioner of Labor. In addition, certain types of permanent injuries have predefined values through New Jersey’s schedule of benefits.
Two Types of Workers’ Comp Settlements
There are two types of workers’ compensation settlements in New Jersey: Section 20 and Section 22. A Section 20 settlement gives you a lump sum payment in exchange for your right to all workers’ compensation benefits, including future medical care. This might be an option if the insurance company has denied your workers’ compensation claim or only accepted part of the claim.
A Section 22 settlement means that the insurance company has accepted your claim and you and the insurer agree on a specific permanent disability rating for your injuries. After this agreement, the insurer will pay your benefits in installments according to the state’s schedule of benefits. With this type of settlement, you do not give up your right to request further compensation for future medical care.
In New Jersey, you can settle a workers’ compensation claim at any time. However, it is recommended that you wait until your doctor has said that you’ve reached your point of maximum medical improvement. This is when your doctor believes that you will not recover any further from your injuries. If you settle earlier than this point in your recovery, you may not fully understand the extent of your injuries, how they will impact you in the future and how much your future medical care will cost.
What Is the Statute of Limitations to File a Workers’ Compensation Claim in New Jersey?
The statute of limitations is a law that enforces a deadline on a worker’s ability to file a claim. In New Jersey, there is a statute of limitations on workers’ compensation claims of two years from the date that the claim arose. With only rare exceptions to the rule, if you try to file a claim after you’ve missed the deadline, it will be summarily rejected.
Unlike a standard personal injury case, the statute of limitations on a workers’ comp claim does not start counting down on the date of the injury. Instead, the clock may start ticking on the day that you were injured, the day that you discovered an occupational illness, the day that you were diagnosed with an injury or illness and realized that it was caused by work, or the day that your employer paid you for your injury outside of the workers’ comp system.
Statutes of limitations can be confusing during workers’ comp cases in New Jersey. The best way to file your claim within the deadline so that there is no dispute about whether or not you filed too late is by working with an Teaneck personal injury attorney from the very beginning of your case.
Contact a New Jersey Worker’s Compensation Injury Attorney Today
Even if your employer is entitled to compensate you for your injuries, the workers’ compensation claim process can be strenuous and complex. Our legal team of Teaneck workers compensation lawyers have more than nine decades of combined legal experience researching the guidelines, laws and regulations that can affect the outcome of your case. The Law Offices of Jeffrey S. Hasson, P.C. can help you whether you are filing for the first time or if your claim has been denied and you need assistance with an appeal.
Our law firm stands apart due to our dedication to personalized service and we have been recognized many times over the years, including an Avvo Rating of 10.0. We are here to help alleviate stress and deal with the legal matters so you can focus on healing and recovery from your injuries. To contact an experienced workers compensation attorney call us at (201) 928-0300 or reach out to us via our online contact form. Our attorneys are proud to serve Teaneck and the entire state of New Jersey with workers compensation legal resources.